top of page

Grammar in use(basic+ intermediate)

🦄just/ already/ yet=> 用於現在完成式或過去簡單式,yet 用於否定式

🦄has to 可用於過去式,must not 不可

🦄ought to= should

🦄I'd rather....

🦄I'd prefer to....

🦄so am I= I am, too.

=> so have I= I have, too.

=> neither am I= I am not, either.

=> neither can I= I can not, either.

🦄How long does it take (sb.) to...

🦄wait for sth.

=> wait to do sth.

=> wait for sth./ sb. to....

=> I'm waiting for Jony to call.

🦄go on excursion

=> go on a cruise

🦄his 他的...../他的

🦄police (pl.)

🦄some+ cn.(pl.)/ un.

🦄(X)(X)(X)(the)=> breakfast/ lunch/ dinner/ next/ last+ week/ month/ year/ summer/ school/ college/ class/ work/ church(指功能,非指定某間)/街道/廣場/機場/車站/大學/公園// 山/湖/(X)國家方位North Korea

🦄the+(republic/ states/ kingdom/ pl.) (大洋/海/河流/山脈/沙漠) (旅館/餐廳/戲院/博物館/紀念堂) (...of....) (方位)

🦄none= no sth.

=> "How much money do you have?" ''none''

🦄no one= no body

🦄all/ most/ some/ any/ no+ n.

=> all/ most/ some/ any/ no+ of+ the..../ this/ that/ these/ those/ my/ your....

🦄both+ pl.

=> either/ neither+ sing.

🦄(a) little+ un.

🦄(a) few+ pl.

🦄I've ever...../ you've ever......

🦄enough for sb./ sth. to do sth.

🦄When+ CL.(present tense).....

=> ......when Sandy is in New York.

🦄on the weekend/weekends

🦄in morning/ afternoon/ evening

🦄at night/ midnight/ the end of....

🦄before/ after+ v-ing

🦄during+ N.

=> during the movie

=> while+ V.

=> while I'm reading

🦄arrive in 國家與城市

=> arrive at 較小的地點

🦄fed up with.... 受夠了

🦄angry/ mad at sb.

=> angry/ mad about sth.

🦄What's happened to it?

=> happen to...

🦄think about .... 為... 著想

=> think of.... 考慮

🦄call/ e- mail/ text sb.

🦄it depends (on) what/ where/ how....

🦄put on your coat= put your coat on=> put it on (X)(put on it)=> 代名詞 置於 介系詞前

🦄take off your shoes=> take your shoes off=> take them off (X)(take off them)

🦄I always do sth. 每次都做某事

=> I always doing sth. 某事發生頻率已高過正常狀況

🦄think 表有某種意見時=> 不可使用進行式

=> I think .......

=> 但表考慮時可

=> I'm thinking about/ of......

🦄she's selfish 他就是很自私

=> She's being selfish 他在當下表現得很自私

🦄It's the (first) time sth. has happened

=> This is the second time this has happened.

🦄現在完成進行式表一個動作持續到現在此刻才停止或剛停止,與現在時間有關係(加上一些時間副詞也可表動作持續進行)

=> I'm glad you called. I've been thinking about calling you....

=> Where have you been? Ive been looking everywhere for you.

🦄how long.... + have/ has sb. been doing sth. ...// When.... + pass tense...

🦄how much/ how many/ how many times....+ have/ has sb. done sth.

🦄know/ like/ believe 通常不用進行式

🦄live/ work 可以使用現完,也可現完進行

=> John has been living/ has lived in Montreal for a long time..... 前者還住那/ 後者已不住那

=> 但與 always 一起使用時,必須使用現完

=> I've always done/ I've always lived

=> Have you always lived in the country?

🦄否定句表一段時間也可用in

=> They haven't had a vacation for/ in 10 years.

🦄It's(It has) been a long time/____ year(s) since....

=> It's been a long time since (the last time) I saw Mercy.= I haven't seen Mercy for a long time.

=> How long has it been since....

=> How long has it been since (the last time) you saw Mercy?

🦄It wasn't raining when we went out.The sun was shining. But it had been raining, so the ground was wet.

🦄sb. used to VR 以前

=> sb. be used to v-ing 現在還是

🦄shell I..../ shell we.... 徵求意見

🦄... will be dong sth. 表某動作即將進行 (通常有確切時間,表未來時間點正在做某事)

=>An hour from now, the stadium will be full. Everyone will be watching the game.

🦄will have done 未來完成式,表未來時間點,某事已完成

=> Sally always leaves for work at 8:30 in the morning. She won't be home at 9:00--- She'll have gone to work.

🦄When/ while/ before/ after/ as soon as/ until/ till 皆以現在式表未來

🦄表過去式時,必須使用must (not) have done

=> : we used to live close to freeway.

: Did you? It must have been noisy.

🦄表過去可能 may/ might have done .....

=> She might have been asleep.

🦄might/ may as well 最好....

=> : What should we do? Should we walk?

: We might as well. It's a nice day, and I don't want to wait here for an hour.

🦄have to= have got to

=> I have to go home= I have got to go home= I have gotta go home

🦄had better (not) +VR

🦄It's time (for sb.) to do sth.

🦄would 可表示過去定期固定發生的事= used to +VR

=> Whenever Richard was angry, he would/ used to walk out of the room.

🦄I wish.... would....

🦄被動句型通常用於不知道做的人或做的人不重要

🦄It's said that he's 108 years old= he's said to be 108 years old.

=> alleged/ believed/ considered/ expected/ known/ reported/ thought/ understood.... 可用上述句型

🦄have/ get (口) sth. done 托他人為我們做某事

=> Lisa had/ got the roof repaired.

🦄間接敘述時通常使用過去式/ 過去完成式=> 但若陳述之事仍為真可用現在式

=> Tome said (that) he was felling sick.

🦄what/ who 為問句主詞,則不用助動詞 do/ does/ did

=> Sarah called sb.=> Who did Sarah call?

=> Sb. called Sarah=> Who called Sarah?

🦄You have?/ She isn't?/ They do?...... 可用於表 really? 表對他人話題有興趣

🦄附加問句語調向下為徵求同意非真實問句=> 上揚反之

🦄postpone/ consider/ admit/ finish/ imagine/ deny/ quit/ risk/ miss/ recommend....+ v-ing

🦄deserve/ arrange/ afford/ threaten/ seem/ appear/ pretend/ claim/ beg/ expect/ mean/ intend.... +to V.

🦄start/ begin/ continue/ bother.....+ v-ing/ to v.

🦄-ing 後不接 -ing

=> It's starting to rain.

🦄go on+ v-ing 繼續做原本就在做的事

=> go on+ to 繼續去做另一件事

🦄can't help doing sth. 情不自禁....

🦄help to do...= help do....

🦄sth. needs to be done.( 有時等於need doing)

=> Do you think my pants need to be done?

= Do you think my pants need washing?

🦄like/ love/ hate 表某事已為事實時不用 to-V.

=> Do you like being a student?

🦄I'd like to have done..... 為現反句型

🦄: I'll fix it tomorrow. : I would rather you did it today.=> 非表過去

🦄succeed in

🦄dream of

🦄approve of

🦄feel like

🦄congratulate on

🦄accuse of

🦄suspect of

🦄keep from

🦄stop from

🦄spend/ waste+ v-ing

🦄busy (with) + v-ing

🦄It's (not) worth+ v-ing

=> a movie is worth watching.

=> a book is worth reading.

🦄There is no point in+ v-ing

🦄There is no use/ It's no use....+ v-ing

🦄sth. is sure/ likely/ certain/ bound to+ v....

🦄afraid+ of/ to do sth.

🦄interested in v-ing 想做某事,喜歡做某事

=> interested to (hear/ see/ read/ know/ find) 對某事感興趣= surprised to/ delighted to

🦄baggage (un.)

🦄behavior (un.)

🦄chaos (un.)

🦄damage (un.)

🦄luck (un.)

🦄luggage (un.)

🦄permission (un.)

🦄progress (un.)

🦄scenery (un.)

🦄traffic (un.)

🦄weather (un.)

🦄work (un.)

🦄travel (un.)

🦄a/ an+ 職業

🦄the sky/ she/ ocean/ ground/ country/ environment...

🦄go to the movie/ theatre (phr.)

🦄(X)(the) breakfast/ lunch/ dinner

🦄The+ n. (動物,機器....)=> 泛指

=> (X)(the) man

🦄the+ 國籍=> 泛指某國人民

🦄the+ a.=> 泛指某族群之人

=> the young, the old, the blind, the rich, the poor...

🦄the+ 姓氏=> 某姓一家人

🦄Jack and Kai's 後者加's

🦄the government's decision= the decision of the government

🦄yesterday's newspaper

🦄next week's meeting

🦄a week's vacation

🦄concentrate/ feel/ relax/ meet/ wash/ shave/dress.....不接反身代名詞=> (X) concentrate myself

=> I can't relax

=> you have to concentrate

=> get dressed

🦄one another= each other

=> How long have you and Bill known each other/ one another?

🦄on my own 獨立地 by myself 獨自

🦄every/ everyone/ everybody/ somebody/ someone/ anybody/ anyone.... 皆為單數形名詞

=> 但使用複數代名詞

=> Someone has forgotten their umbrella.

=> nobody/ no one 使用複數代名詞

=> Nobody called, did they?

🦄a lot of/ lots of/ plenty of+ (un.)/ (cn.)(pl.)

🦄very little/ few

🦄some/ most/ none 可單獨使用

=> Some cars have four doors and some have two.

🦄neither of them= not either of them

🦄both (of) my parents

=> both of them/ us/ you 不可省

🦄neither of 後可使用單/ 複數動詞

🦄We can go either restaurant. I don't care. 隨便,擇一

🦄both/ neither/ either of+ the/ these/ my/ Tom's...

=> (X)both of restaurants

🦄both/ either/ neither 討論兩樣的東西

🦄any/ none/ all 討論兩樣以上的東西

🦄whole+ sing.=> I read the whole book

=> whole 通常不與 (un.) 一起用

🦄all day= the whole day

🦄everyone= everybody 指人

=> every one 可指事物與人

🦄every/ each+ sing.

🦄whose 表his/ her/ their..

=> A window is a woman whose husband is dead.

🦄My brother Jim, who lives Houston, is a doctor. 補述用法關係子句

=> Brad told me about his new job, which he's enjoying a lot.

🦄關係代名詞作受詞時,whom= who

=> The woman whom I wanted to see was away on vacation.

🦄Mary has three brothers. All of them are married. (2)

=> Mary has three brothers, all of whom are married. (1)

=> They asked me a lot of questions. I couldn't answer most of them.

=> They asked me a lot of questions, most of which I couldn't answer.

🦄Joe got the job, which surprised everybody. (X)(What)

=> which

🦄lately= recently

🦄I hardly ever go out.

🦄It's hardly surprising that you're tired.

=> no wonder that you're tired.

🦄such+ (n.)

🦄You won't find this word in dictionary. There's no such word.

🦄enough 可單獨使用

=> We don't need that any more. I've got enough.

🦄enough/ too....+ to do sth...

=> enough/ too....+ for sth.

🦄any/ no+ 比較級

=> any longer

=> no bigger than ours

=> do you feel any better?

🦄the sooner the better

=> the bigger the better

=> the less luggage the better

=> the more expensive the hotel, the better the service.

=> the more I though about the plan, the less I liked it.

🦄the elder sister=> (X) my sister is elder.

🦄than me= than I am

=> My brother is taller than me= My brother is taller than I am.

🦄all/ both/ always/ also/副詞...... => be v. 前;一般v. 之後

🦄in spite of/ despite+ N./ 代名詞(this/ that/ what...)/ v-ing

🦄in spite of the fact (that)+ CL.

🦄Although the traffic was bad, we arrived on time.= In spite of traffic, we arrived on time.

🦄I couldn't sleep although I was very tired.= I couldn't sleep despite being very tired.

🦄as 表兩件事發生於同時

=> We all waved goodbye to Liz as she drove/ was driving away.

🦄just as 表就在那個時候

=> Just as I sat down, the phone rang.

=> I had to leave just as the conversation was getting interesting.

🦄as 表兩件事於一段長時間一起改變

=> As the day went on, the weather got worse.

=> I began to enjoy the job more as I got used to it.

🦄such as+ 舉例

🦄as picky as you like, as you like, as you want, as I said, as you know, as she expected, as I though....

🦄as if= as though= like 像+ N./ CL.

=> That house looks as if it's going to fall down.

=> I don't feel as though I just had vacation.

=> 若陳述之事非事實,則使用現反

=> He talk as if he knew everything.

🦄during+ N.

=> while+ CL.

🦄by the time sth. happens 某事發生之前

=> It's too late to go to the bank now.By the time we get there, it will be closed.

=> by then

=> by that time

🦄in a few minutes/ in six months= in six months' time => 表未來

=> in a week's time

=> in.... 表某事需多少時間

=> I learned to drive in four weeks.

🦄just in time 幾乎太遲了

=> We got to the station just in time for our train.

🦄at the end 某事尾聲

=> at the end of May.

=> at the end of the movie.

=> in the end 狀況的最後結果;最後,終於

=> We sold it in the end.

🦄front desk= counter

🦄in the corner 內角(房間角落)

=> at/ on the corner 外角(街角)

🦄on the front/ back+ the photo/ letter/ a piece of paper... 正反面

🦄an increase/ decrease/ rise/ drop in(價錢、銷量等)

🦄furious/ angry/ mad/ upset about sth.

🦄upset with sb. for sth.

🦄mad at sb. for sth.

🦄furious/ angry at/ with sb. for sth.

🦄delighted/ pleased/ satisfied/ happy/ disappointed with sth.

🦄impressed with/ by sb./ sth.

🦄fed up/ bored with sth.

🦄crowded with sth.(people...etc)

🦄It's tropical of him to keep everybody waiting.

🦄shout at sb. 生氣時

=> shout to sb. 為讓他人聽見時

🦄throw at sb. 為打中

=> throw to sb. 為讓他人接住

🦄hear about 聽說、被告知

=> hear of 知道某人/ 某事存在

=> hear from 接獲某人的信、電話、消息

🦄remind sb. about ..... 提醒某人不要忘記....

=> remind sb. of ... 使某人想起....

🦄complain to sb about sth. 抱怨

=> complain of a pain, an illness 表有某種病痛

=> We called the doctor because George was complaining of a pain in his stomach.

🦄warn sb. about.... 告知某人某人某事是危險的

=> warn sb. about..... 告知某人某危險的事即將發生

🦄accuse/ suspect sb. of.... 控訴/懷疑某人犯某事

🦄approve/ disapprove of.... 許可/不許可某事

🦄blame sth. on sb. /blame sb. for sth.

🦄congratulate/ compliment sb. on .....

=> I congratulated her on being to law school.

🦄specialize in

🦄translate from... into....

🦄collide with

=> A bus collided with a car.

🦄leave sth. out 省略、不包括

🦄drop out of college/ class/ a race.....

🦄try out a machine, an idea, a system...etc. 測試

🦄hand/ give sth. out 分送給每個人

🦄blow out a candle

🦄be off (to 某地點)出發到某地

🦄see sb. off 送行

🦄go on (with) doing sth.

🦄drag on 拖延太久

=> I don't want this problem to drag on.

🦄take on a job/ extra work/ a responsibility

🦄doze off/ drop off/ nod off 睡著

🦄tell off 生氣對他人說話

=> Claire's mother told her off for wearing dirty shoes in the house.

🦄burn down a house

🦄tear down a building

🦄cut down a tree

🦄blow a tree

🦄cut down on sth.=> I'm trying to cut down on coffee.

🦄keep up (with sb.)=> I can't keep up with you.

🦄take up a hobby/ a sport/ an activity, etc.

🦄back up a car 倒車

🦄end up somewhere/ end up doing sth.

🦄use sth. up 用盡某物

🦄turn up/ show up 抵達出現

=> He didn't turn up.

🦄go up/ come up/ walk up (to) 接近

🦄bring/ come up a topic=> Please don't bring it up again.

🦄save up for sth./ to do sth. 存錢以便買某事物

🦄beat sb. up 連續揍某人因此受傷

🦄fix up

🦄look sth. up a dictionary/ encyclopedia, etc.

🦄put up with sth.=bear/ stead sth.

🦄get away with sth. 做了不對的事但沒有被發現

=> I parked in a no-parking zone, but I got away with it.

🦄keep away (from)

🦄wave/ smile/ shout/ write... back/ hit sb. back

🦄pay back money= return money

🦄look back (on sth.) 回想過去發生的事

🦄get back to sb. 以電話等方式回覆

=> I sent him an e-mail, but he never got back to me.


Lang's motto.

#1 

LOVE yourself

#2

TRUST yourself

#3

DESIGN yourself

bottom of page