top of page

一定要會的英語發燒句

🖼leave it at that

= call it a wrap

🖼a Monday morning quarterback

🖼now it's clear as day

🖼what planet is sb. from?

= sb. must have a screw loose.

= sb. must be off sb's rocker.

= be soft in the head

=sb. must be off sb's trolley.

🖼take a heat (for.....) 背黑鍋

= be a scapegoat. 代罪羔羊

= be left holding the bag.

🖼(feel) out off place 格格不入;不自在

🖼speak of the devil

🖼blow smoke= brag= boast 吹噓;吹牛

=> Tom is always bragging about......

🖼full of hot air 空話;浮誇之詞

= full of beans

= full of bull

= full of it

🖼take sb. down a notch/ peg. 挫挫銳氣

=> take it down a notch/ peg. 克制一點;收斂一點

🖼have a finger in every pie

🖼put the lid on it

= zip it

= pipe down

= hush up

= shut your trap

🖼reinvest the wheel

🖼be on the same page 達成共識

🖼break a leg

🖼hang in there

🖼go for it!

🖼defense<=> offense

🖼make a mountain out of a molehill 小題大作

=> Don't make a mountain out of a molehill. I'll nail it.

🖼lose (sb.'s) cool<=> keep (sb.'s) cool

🖼monkey see, monkey do.

=> mimic (n.)(v.)(a.)

🖼let's meet each other halfway 各退一步

=> split the difference 折衷妥協

🖼I can feel it in my bones

= have a premonition

= have a sense of foreboding

=> have a sixth sense

🖼don't be such a spoilsport

=> sport (n.) 消遣;娛樂活動

= don't spoil the fun

= don't be such a pooper

= don't be such a wet blanket

🖼butt heads with each other 意見不合

=> they are always butting heads with each other.

🖼hold yourself together

= pull yourself together

= clam down

🖼I'm on cloud nine

= I'm in seventh heaven

= I'm over the moon

🖼don't play dumb (with) sb. 別(對某人)裝傻

🖼you pay for quality

= you get what you pay for

🖼bring it on 放馬來

= show me what you've got

=> bring sth. on 引起;導致(不好結果)

🖼a backseat drive

🖼cut it too close (時間、行程) 抓太緊

🖼get on my/ sb.'s nerves 使我/ 某人心煩

🖼same old, same old 老樣子

🖼that's sb. for you

= that's just like sb.

🖼I couldn't care less 無所謂;管他的

= it makes no difference for me

🖼have at it

= be my guest

= feel free

🖼Tom said he could beat anyone at tennis

🖼egg on one's face 當眾出糗;難堪

🖼on the market 市面上

🖼on top of each other 爭先恐後

=> on top of sb. (危險或威脅)緊挨著某人

=> get on top of sb. (工作或麻煩) 讓某人應接不暇

🖼knock on wood 老天保佑

= cross your finger

🖼cross that bridge when we come to it

🖼call a spade a spade 有話直說

🖼hit the nail on the head

= hit the bull's- eye

= be spot on

🖼he had it coming (to himself)

= he deserve it

= he got his just deserts

= he got his comeuppance

=> comeuppance (n.) 應得的懲罰;報應

🖼if the shoes fit, wear it 你不如就承認吧

🖼we were all flabbergasted

= we were all dumbfounded

=> dumbfounded (v.) (驚訝到) 啞口無言

🖼that's my vulnerable point

=> vulnerable (a.) 易受傷的;脆弱的

= that's my Achilles's heels

🖼do whatever it takes 全力以赴

🖼don't let him get his way

🖼I don't control the purse strings 錢不是我在管的

=> drawstring

=> tighten the purse strings<=> loosen the purse strings

🖼all the rage 夯

= hit

= the big thing

= catch on (v.)

🖼snap it up 搶購某物

= rush in to purchase something

= panic buying

🖼pass the buck 推卸責任;踢皮球

= shift the blame

🖼stuck- up (a.)

= cocky

= snooty

= snotty

🖼cross swords 唇槍舌戰

=> the two salmon are going to cross swords

🖼you made your bed 你自作自受

🖼cast/ throw pearls before swine

🖼not spill the beans<=> let the cat out of the bag

🖼racing against the clock 分秒必爭

🖼steal sb's thunder

🖼make a monkey/ fool (out) of sb. 讓某人難堪

🖼back sb. up

= support sb.

= have sb.'s back

= watch sb.'s back

🖼better safe than sorry

🖼close, but no cigar

= almost got it

= pretty close

🖼don't be such a sore loser 別輸不起

=> fair and square 公平正當;光明磊落

🖼don't press/ push your luck

= don't take any chances 不要碰運氣

🖼freeze=> froze

🖼let it do= get over it= drop it

🖼lay it on the line

= tell me like it is

= spit it out

= give me the facts

🖼it's a matter of debate 可以辯論的事情;見仁見智

=> it's a matter of opinion

=> it's open to debate/ discuss

=> it's debatable

🖼don't rock the boat!

= don't cause/ make trouble

= don't stir things up

🖼I wasn't born yesterday.

= I'm not naive

🖼don't let it slip through your fingers/ hands

= don't let it get away

= don't miss your chance

🖼that's just a shot in the dark

🖼sb. is in over his head 不自量力;某人應付不來

🖼your call

= it's up to you

= it's your decision

🖼neck and neck

🖼I know zip about sth./ sb.

= I have no idea about sth./ sb.

=> It's all Greek/ Double Dutch/ Chinese to me

🖼what goes around comes around 種什麼因得什麼果

=> sb. will be treated the same way someday

🖼don't knock it till you've tried it 試了再說

🖼at a loss of words 詞窮

🖼you're burying your head in the sand

🖼sb. can take a joke 某人開得起玩笑

🖼sb. is a good sport 有雅量;輸得起

🖼great minds think alike 聰明有才智的人想法相同

🖼don't put the cart before the horse 別本末倒置

🖼you can't have cake and eat it too

🖼don't keep sb. in suspense 別賣某人關子了

🖼don't sell yourself short 別妄自菲薄

=> don't underestimate yourself

=> don't shortchange yourself

=> don't look down on/ upon yourself

🖼let's get down to brass tacks 直接切入重點

= Let's cut to the chase

= Let's straight down to business

= Let's get to the point

= Let's talk turkey

= Let's get down to business

🖼That's wishful thinking

= That's just a pipe dream

🖼put on airs

=> she's been putting on airs ever since she got back from England.

= has sb.'s nose in the air

= give oneself airs

= over- inflate yourself

🖼it's for the birds 那很蠢誒

🖼that's outrageous 那不合常理;那太瞎了

🖼I'll say

= you said it

= that's so true

🖼better late than never 遲到總比不到好

🖼pull the rabbit out of sb.'s hat 錦囊妙計

🖼there is no skin off my nose 對我沒差

= It doesn't matter to me

= makes no difference to me

= not my problem

🖼have/ get my duck in a row 準備妥善

=> shooting gallery 射擊場

🖼don't let the grass grow on your feet 別拖拖拉拉的

🖼beats me

= search me

= I have no idea

= I don't have a clue

🖼your fly was open 你石門水庫沒關

=> XYZ (Examine your zipper)

=> aren't you feel a little drafty down below?

🖼that'll be the day 真的發生的話會很值得紀念(嘲諷這是不可能的)

🖼I'm off the hook now 我解脫了

=> off the hook 也做逃過一劫

🖼burn sb.'s bridges 自斷退路<=> 人情留一線,日後好相見

=> on a good terms (with sb.)

🖼give it a rest 別說了;有完沒完

= drop it

= cut it out

= can it

🖼I call your bluff 少唬人了

🖼quit while sb. is ahead 見好就收;極有聲望時做大家不看好的事

🖼chances are slim

🖼two wrong don't make a right 冤冤相報何時了

🖼it's not so great/ as good, but it'll have to do. 沒蝦魚也好

🖼rob Peter to pay Paul 挖東牆補西牆

🖼I smell a rat 我覺得事情有蹊蹺

🖼neither here nor there 某事不重要、與討論得情況或事實不相關

🖼don't make/ cause a scene

= don't attract attention

= don't call attention to yourself

🖼every dogs has its day

🖼are you pulling my leg?

= are you kidding me?

🖼don't get carried away 別沖昏頭;別迷失自我

🖼you're in a catch- 22

= you're caught in a dilemma

= you're in a no- win situation

= you're caught between a rock and a hard place

🖼a (real) fly in the ointment 老鼠屎

= a rotten apple spoils the barrel

🖼you've spread yourself too thin. 某人想同時做太多事;分身乏術

= you've bitten off more than you can chew

🖼shot oneself in the foot 自找麻煩

🖼get over yourself 別自以為是了;別自以為了不起

🖼freeze like a deer caught in the headlights

🖼crack sb. up 使某人大笑

🖼sb. is way out of line 某人太過分/ 超過

🖼suck it up 忍著點

🖼the squeaky wheel gets the oil 會吵的小孩有糖吃

🖼make hay while the sun shine

= strike while the iron is hot

🖼down in the dumps

= look(s) bummed out

= long face

🖼get a life 做點有意義的事

=> have a life<=> you have no life

🖼look who's talking 你好意思說,你還敢說

🖼penny wise, pound foolish

🖼bite the bullet 硬著頭皮....

🖼feel the pinch 手頭不如以前寬裕

=> I've been feeling the pinch lately.

🖼eat one's words

🖼get/ have a taste of one's own medicine

🖼give sb. a piece of one's mind 責罵某人;告訴某人自己很生氣或不滿

🖼be the spitting image of sb.

=> You're spitting image of your mother

🖼revenge is best served cold 不必急著報仇

🖼you and what army? 就憑你?

🖼rake/ haul sb. over the coals 嚴厲責備、數落某人

🖼I can't feel my hands

=> numb (a.) 麻的

=> my feet are/ feel numb

🖼once bitten twice shy 一招被蛇要,十年怕草蛇

🖼I put my foot in my mouth 無意中講錯話傷害到他人,使自己感到尷尬、難堪

🖼bark up the wrong tree

🖼this picture doesn't flatter you 照片沒你本人好看

=> photogenic

🖼watch where you're going 走路看路

🖼nothing of that sort happened 沒那類的事發生

= nothing like that

🖼don't jinx sth./ sb./ it 不要烏鴉嘴

🖼let's get a jump on it 先搶先贏

= grab it while it is still there

🖼sth. give sb. the willies

= sb. get spooked by sth.

= sth. make sb. 's hair stand

= sth. give me the creeps/ newbie- jeebies

🖼sb. be out of one's league 某人讓某人高攀不起

🖼sb./ sth. is something else= sth./ sb. is one of the kind

🖼up the creek (without a paddle) 處境艱難;陷入僵局

= in a deep trouble

🖼we're back to square one 從頭開始

🖼find a needle in a haystack

🖼don't point the finger at me 把錯怪到某人頭上

🖼get out of here 少來了

🖼don't sweat it

= don't worry about it

🖼take it or leave it

🖼who pays the piper calls the tune 出錢的是老大

🖼what does sb. have on you? 某人抓到你什麼把柄

=> have something on sb. 抓到某人把柄

🖼I'm down with that

= I'm up for that

= I'm fine with that

🖼there is not a soul in sight

= not a thing/ nothing in sight

🖼don't wash your dirty linen in public 家醜不要外揚

🖼so that's what it boils down to 原來如此

🖼that's the way the cookie crumbles

🖼behind the eight ball 處於劣勢;陷入困難

🖼Let's paint the town red

= rock the town

= live it up

🖼pick on someone sb.'s size 別以大欺小

🖼that's music to one's ear

🖼what's your prescription? 你近視幾度?

=> slight nearsighted

=> really nearsighted

=> farsighted

=> astigmatism 散光

🖼that's the pot calling the kettle black 五十步笑百步

🖼sb. talks a good game 很會說話;講得天花亂墜

🖼same difference 還不都一樣;差不多啦

: Paul said he quit job, but I think he was fired

:Same difference. He doesn't work at that company anymore.

🖼your guess is as good as mine

= you beat me

= I have no idea

🖼like shooting fish in a barrel

= It's breeze/ cinch/ snap

🖼brace oneself (for sth.) 心理準備好某事

🖼it touch and go 極度危急;不確定、不明朗

🖼my conscience is clear 我問心無愧

=> not in all/ good conscience 不能昧著良心

=> I really can't in all/ good conscience tell you to buy this car.

🖼out of sight/ out of mind

= far from sight, far from heart

🖼it just doesn't add up 這根本說不通

= It just doesn't make sense

🖼in a middle of sth./ doing sth.

= sb. is busy doing sth.

🖼paper over the cracks 掩飾問題

🖼it's the thought that counts 重要的是心意

= It's the thought that matter

🖼push sb. into a corner

= push sb. up against a wall

🖼easy does it

= don't rush

= take your time

🖼don't be stranger

🖼have it your way 隨你便

= suit yourself

= as you wish

= whatever makes you happy

🖼don't just pay lip service 別光說不練

🖼 sb. is behind the curve 某人跟不上<=> sb. is ahead of the curve

🖼wake up and smell the coffee 清醒點;認清事實;面對現實

🖼it all water under the bridge 一切都無法改變了;一切都是過去式了

= It's water over the dam

🖼I'm going the whole nine yards

= I'm going to in

= I'm going all out

🖼I'm sick as dog

= I'm extremely ill

= I'm really sick

🖼keep one's head above water 免強維生

=> make ends meet

🖼make no boned about sth./ v-ing 說話直接、坦白;毫不遲疑做某事

🖼let's bury the hatchet

= Let's make pease

🖼I'm off my game 表現失常<=> I'm on my game

🖼pick sb.s brain 聽取他人意見

🖼fit as a fiddle

🖼it's my way or the highway 照我的話做,不然就拉倒

🖼take one for the team 犧牲小我,顧及大局

🖼that's your cue

= it's your turn

🖼sb. flip out

= fly into a rage

= throw/ have a fit

= blow one's top/ stack/ cool

🖼sb. hits below the belt 某人都使用伎倆,來陰的

🖼stop being so fickle 別三心二意的

🖼at one's wit's end 我沒輒了

🖼bottle it up 悶在心裡;絕口不提

<=> vent sth. on sb.

<=> take it out on sb.

<=> get sth. off one's chest

<=> blow off steam

🖼I heard it from the grapevine

🖼keep one's eye on the ball

= stay focused

= pay attention

🖼a slap on the wrist 在手腕上打一下;無傷大雅的薄懲

= a mild/ light punishment

🖼all bark and no bite 只會虛張聲勢

= empty treat

= sb.'s bark is worse than sb.'s bite

🖼all good things come to an end

= nothing lasts forever

🖼sth. just a flash in the pan 曇花一現

🖼don't rest/ sit on your laurels 別自滿

🖼cross the stream where it is shallowest 從易處著手

🖼get things off your cheat

🖼(sb. just wants ) a piece/ a share/ a slice of pie 分一杯羹

🖼cash in on sth. 趁機利用.....

=> current success 當前的成功

=> don't try to cash in on my current success

🖼have a heart

= be nice

= show some compassion

🖼I've been there before 我是過來人

🖼 don't let him push you around 別任他擺佈

🖼sharp tongue 尖牙利嘴

=> a sliver tongue 舌粲蓮花

🖼don't bite the hand that just feeds you

🖼stop kicking yourself 別懊惱責怪自己了

🖼don't drop the ball

= don't blow it

= don't screw it

🖼don't take it out on me 別拿我出氣

🖼drastic times call for drastic measures. 非常時期使用非常手段

🖼have a field day 重要日期;大好機會;令人相當愉快的時間

=> the press is having a field day with it 媒體正在為此大作文章

=> press= media

🖼sb. is still setting on the fence

🖼keep your chin up

🖼too many cooks spoil the broth 人多反誤事

<=> many hands make light work

🖼call it even


Lang's motto.

#1 

LOVE yourself

#2

TRUST yourself

#3

DESIGN yourself

bottom of page