top of page

[AT]Terry-Exercise

A new study has shown that physical activity and exercise are 'contagious' because of social media. Researchers at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) discovered that people who post details of their exercise patterns and achievements on social media sites motivate(v.) and encourage other people to be more active. Researchers tracked the exercise routines of 1.1 million runners over a period of five years. They looked at the geographic location of the runners, their social network use, distance, time, pace and the calories they burned. The researchers concluded that sharing personal exercise data via social media can inspire others to exercise more, exercise harder and do so more competitively.

The journal 'Nature Communications' has published the research. The study includes detailed accounts of how inspiring it can be to read about a friend's physical activity. Researchers said: "On average, an additional kilometre run by friends can inspire someone to run an additional three-tenths of a kilometre, and an additional ten minutes run by friends can inspire someone to run three minutes longer." The study said social media improved the performance of runners who had been a little slower or less in shape, and of those who were showing signs of overtaking a friend's performance. Researcher Sinan Aral said: "In general, if you run more, it is likely that you can cause your friends to run more."

NOTE

From terry811 to Everyone: ((null))

I'm still modifying the sketch.

They said that some of my ideas were great...

Wednesday of next week...

due- when you have to turn something in.

deadline=due

I will do the prototype on Monday.

I was born and raised in Taichung.

When we last moved it was because my mom and dad divorced.

From terry811 to Everyone: ((null))

However, we stayed in the same county.

I have a younger sisters and many cousins.

We would play together often during summer and winter vacations.

I wasn't a great student.

During my childhood I always felt unfocused on school work and I played a lot.

From terry811 to Everyone: ((null))

My parents were very open-minded.

I had kind of a milestone.

I thought about what kind of person, I would be in the future.

I felt gloomy about it.

I went to the bookstore to seek out books that talked about life and what was the meaning of it.

From terry811 to Everyone: (12:09 AM)

My conclusion was to find something that you are passionate about and that you love doing.

I chose design as my major as a result of my childhood.

My family said that I had a talent for painting.

They looked around and saw my paintings.

From terry811 to Everyone: (12:12 AM)

When it was time to choose my major I chose advertisement design.

two -dimensional

I felt really frustrated with the new concepts.

I don't have much time for painting.

It always made me feel relaxed.

Today I am trying to come up with a design style.

From terry811 to Everyone: (12:16 AM)

Every person has their own style, but it might not be so obvious.

You have to make your style flexible.

Nowadays it's quite common.

It won't influence(v.) me too much.

When they got divorced I was only eight years old, so I did have a gloomy period.

From terry811 to Everyone: (12:21 AM)

I still maintain contact with my mom.

We are in a different world.

My mom is always too harsh.

She is a very strong woman.

He is too conservative.

He wants me to find a stable career.

From terry811 to Everyone: (12:27 AM)

competitively

tends

tendency

to be likely to do a thing

tenths

ones, tens, hundreds

decimal number

.1

tenths, hundredths, thousandths

1.

10

.10

contagious- something that spreads from person to person

From terry811 to Everyone: (12:34 AM)

I always want to invite my friends to be my jogging partners. but they just don't enjoy jogging.

Their research is flawed

motivate

From terry811 to Everyone: ((null))

Synonyms for motivate

galvanize

drive

inspire

persuade

prompt

propel

spark

spur

Donald Trump was able to galvanize middle America into an effective voting force.

My favorite designer persuaded me to major in industrial design.

antonyms for motivate

discourage

dissuade

halt

hinder

prevent

repress

retard

stop

depress

hindrance- an obstacle to something especially progress

Just because you don't like to run, don't hinder me from jogging.

hinter race

obstacle race

obstacle courses

My father discourages me from traveling abroad.

From terry811 to Everyone: (12:49 AM)

Because a family is poor their children might be repressed from attending school.

a bitter pill to swallow

an unpleasant fact to accept

break down

lose control of your emotions

a dose of one's own medicine

From terry811 to Everyone: (12:55 AM)

get a charley horse

a bad cramp in the leg

jimmy legs

restless leg syndrom

syndrome

involuntary leg movement

Seinfeld

go under the knife

operation OR surgery


Lang's motto.

#1 

LOVE yourself

#2

TRUST yourself

#3

DESIGN yourself

bottom of page